Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

What Are {Best} Friends For?

on October 3, 2013

 

Krischelle

Meet my BF, Krischelle {and her husband Scott}. My beloved friend has the most amazing spirit and a huge heart . She has taken me as her friend, massive as my flaws may be. She is my balance and my filter. And sometimes I can make her laugh. God has richly blessed me with her and her generous love, support, and {magnitudes} of grace. As an added bonus, she’s also been known to fuel my addictions, namely to owls and {free and/or reduced} books.

Example: The other day she surprised me with a few gifts. Something small, as she called it.  One was an owl dish towel, which now has a spot guarding the oven door. The other was a box that was filled with owl notes cards and notepads. To be sure, there were squeals of delight.

 

DSCF0237

Now, me being me and all my brain took a left turn the other day. I’ve started reading Becoming Myself:Embracing God’s Dream of You by Stasi Eldredge. Within the first couple of chapters (I believe I’m on chapter 6 at present), Stasi introduces her insight into a woman’s menstrual cycle. Now, being 42, I’ve known about all of that for some 30 years now. Still, it was this notion of here it is and what it does, and by the third week of your cycle you may fully give yourself permission to have the breakdowns, sleep all of the time, consume certifiable quantities of Midol, and break into the chocolate stash.

By my pure nature, I’m truly not a sweets person. Unless of course we’re discussing cake. I love cake. Or unless we’re talking about PMS week. Then it’s just the dire need for sugar in general: Smarties, Starbursts, M&M’s, chocolate-covered fudge grahams, etc. The problem? I live in a house surrounded by menfolk. And if you’ve never been surrounded by menfolk, let me tell you that boys start consuming food with the velocity of a shop vac beginning around age 10. It increases exponentially with age. My husband would almost rather eat sweets than a meal. He considers sugar to be one of the major food groups, along with butter. So, the problem is that if I want something to have for “that time” I have to hide it. But where? Answer: Adorable owl box given to me by my best friend!!!

DSCF0238

It’s just how I roll.

Now, to today’s photo: ODP13 Day 3. The dress and only the dress. No make-up and hair simply dried and bangs pulled back with a clip.

DSCF0239

Photography credit to my 12-year-old who was required to take said photo because he gripes that I move the couch in order to set up the camera and timer.

Today was a free day at home where I wasn’t expected to be anywhere until 4 p.m. It was also this-house-is-in-desperate-need-of-cleaning day. Not wearing the dress to do things like cleaning toilets and mopping floors. I did, however, don it after all of that and wore it to the chiropractor office, the UPS Store, and McDonald’s drive-thru (I totally rock dinner when the hubs has a Boys’ Night Out.). And because I need to wash it tonight (and let it air dry), I’m home and in my pajamas (again) by 6:30.

Tomorrow starts the beginning of a long weekend and an even longer (but hopefully cooler) week.

Leave a Reply

