Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

ODP Days 13 & 14

on October 14, 2012

Let’s just get this over with. There are no pictures. Saturday I tossed the dress in the washer on the delicate cycle. Hung to dry. This morning it was still wet. Cue improvisation.

If it’s any consolation, the gray leggings and the gray t-shirt that I wore under the dress on Friday, I also slept in that night and, incidentally, wore all day yesterday. Needless to say, Saturday was an “inside day”. The Hubs had taken Things 1 & 2 on a Cub Scout camping trip, leaving me to my own devices for the weekend. I brushed my teeth, put on a bra, and ran a comb through my hair. That was the extent of my grooming yesterday. Some days as a mom you just need to slack off a bit. I cleaned the kitchen, did some laundry, and watched episode after episode of “Brothers & Sisters” on Netflix. You know you want my glamorous life.

So, cue Sunday. Up early. Dogs out. Showered. Even used the curling iron on a bit of hair. Go to put on the dress. IT’S. STILL. WET!! Good thing I was throwing it on over a previous element: capri jeans and black tank top. I hung the dress in the window and positioned a fan on it. It should go without saying that I entered church today just still a bit on the damp side.

Still, it was an amazing day! We were donating items to Outreach, Inc. in Indianapolis, who spend their resources and efforts helping homeless teenagers. My heart was already full with that and the fact that some of my friends who don’t even go to my church said that they wanted to help. We completely loaded down my SUV with donations. The grand total of items leaving our house (or are in the process of leaving the house): 502. And we’re still going. There will be much more I’m certain. I’ll probably take a breather from purging this week.

Our church is a fairly new church plant. We launched officially in February of 2011. We started attending there during their preview services in January 2011. Still, even having been in the church for that amount of time, I just feel like I don’t really know anyone. It’s a younger crowd, and while I should be okay with that, it’s the first time that I still feel like I’m on the outside looking in. My pastor and I have talked on numerous occasions about what my “mission” is, which is serving at the school, and I’m happiest when I’m there, and I’m finding myself in a very odd and uncomfortable season of life. But that’s when we get moving isn’t it, when we’re uncomfortable? Today was a huge step for me because I went to church by myself. I smiled at a few people. I talked to a couple of others. I was living outside of the comfort zone. And then Tanya introduced herself.

Actually, it was more like this ball of energy came at me with “You’re the one with the blog with the dress”. It’s amazing how fast a conversation can happen in your head in a mere second or two. I had no idea that anyone in my church would be interested in what I was doing….or me for that matter. It finally clicked that the pastor had sent a link out to one my posts. And can I just say that her energy is contagious! I had to smile, too, because I am her in my school. I’m hyper. I laugh a lot. I’m the roly-poly jolly PTO president. She was, in that moment, exactly what I selfishly needed. I desperately needed someone to notice me, not for what I’m doing or have done, but just see me. And without knowing what she was doing, she fully crossed that bridge to join me in that moment rather than just passing by or hoping that I’d meet her halfway. I wish I had such fearlessness when I’m outside of my comfort zone.

Matthew 25: 35 (NIV) reads:

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in.

How many of us just take the time?

One response to “ODP Days 13 & 14

  1. I LOVE TANYA!! I don’t know her, but I love her, for you!! And because she’s a ball of energy.

Leave a Reply

