Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

ODP12 Day #9 … and a Mission

on October 9, 2012

Going into this project, I knew exactly what it was about. What I didn’t bargain for was how I would feel each day along the way.

We live in a age where trying to keep up with those around us is bankrupting us as a society, both morally and financially. On Sunday, my pastor preached a sermon on anti-consumerism. Not that he’s against having “stuff”, but it was more of a perspective sermon. According to him, we have four basis needs: food & water, health, shelter, and community. I beg to differ and say that there are five……because without clothing there will be no leaving the shelter and absolutely no community that I’d wish to be a part of. Just saying.

Pastor John challenged us to alleviate 100 items from our homes this week. I must admit that kind of sent me into panic attack mode for a bit. When I took pause, however, I realized that we had already taken a chunk out of that as we had already started purging items from the boys’ closets. Now, realizing that clothes from Thing 1 travel down to Thing 2 doesn’t necessarily count toward the total, I’m still thinking we’re good. Thing 2’s clothes head back to Ohio to our nephew who is two years younger.

Yesterday, I mailed two packages. I also bagged up two more bags of items to return to their original owners. Today, my plan is to attack my closet and really truly evaluate things. I have 3-4 of the exact same shirt. Same color. Everything. Do I really need that many, or could I manage with one or two? What if I paid a little more for better quality in an effort to have less but more that would theoretically last longer?

I am making piles today: Goodwill, donation at church, for specific others, for online garage sale.

I really do want to be free from “stuff” because, for me, it boils down to ….. contentment. Where do I find my hope? My joy? My peace? My sense of self-worth? My everything? For me, I believe that all of that comes from God, but I also know that “things” have a way of swaying me. Of removing my eyes from where their focus should be. I’m not condemning having “things”, but my thought is this: What if I woke up tomorrow and all of my things were gone? Would I still be able to rejoice?

With that said, I was ready to throw the towel in this morning. The thought of wearing the dress one more time made me eager to just don the pajamas and head back to bed. However, after a few false starts, I ended up with another concoction that could be in the “fave” category.

Here are a couple of different “looks” from today……..

Long black skirt that I’ve had for at least 10 years. Dress. Black tank top under dress. Black flats. Short-sleeved denim jacket. Silver owl necklace. Butterfly headband.

Same outfit simply without the jacket. It was 38* outside this morning and closer to 80* in the teacher workroom. Dressing in layers is essential most days.

Workroom attire. I love that a friend made me my apron. The joke around the school is that I’m the “Copier Queen”. Well, we couldn’t find a tiara, but with 20+ teachers that I make copies for 2 days a week, it can be a little stressful, especially if copiers are down. So, the next best thing is an apron (which guards the dress incidentally) that says, “Keep Calm and Copy On”. A nice little reminder before freaking out some days.

And finally, a close-up of my owl necklace. This came from JCPenneys. It was originally $14 on clearance for $8, and then with my sister-in-law’s employee discount, it was even less than that. Something like $6.

I’m finding that fashion doesn’t have to break the bank, style is still somewhat subjective, and a little bit of creativity can go a very long way. That doesn’t mean, however, that I won’t burn this dress by the end of the month.

6 responses to “ODP12 Day #9 … and a Mission

  1. Yay on the purging! But, NOTHING can come to my house! (Oh, and I guess we have to wait until November for our next “Goodwill tour”?) 😉

    • mica71 says:

      Ha! I can go just about anytime, but I might not *buy* anything. I’m still super psyched about the 2 skirts that I got in September. Maybe I’ll have an actual list of things I’m looking for to supplement. 🙂

  2. Jocelyn says:

    Before I got remarried I went through the house and started purging. It amazed me how much stuff I was holding on to for no good reason. Some of it I think I was saving for some sentimental reason, but when I can no longer remember what that reason was, it was easy to get rid of it. I cleared a lot out at that time, but there is still plenty more to go. I often feel overwhelmed by “stuff” and getting rid of things make me feel more in control. So for me getting rid of things comes in spurts. I tackle one room or one closet or one type of item (towels, shoes, etc) with full gusto then go months until the urge takes over again. I figure with this approach eventually there will be less and less stuff to get rid of.

    • mica71 says:

      I hear ya. I purge all of the time, and like you, it’s a control thing for me. I like things organized and clutter-free; however, two full-of-life boys make that an almost impossibility. Still, purge now. Probably do it again around January……or the next time I feel completely out of control and need something tangible to show. 🙂

  3. April says:

    Love the outfits. And? If you do want to burn the dress…can I have it? 😉

Leave a Reply

