Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

October Dress Project 2012

on September 23, 2012

Last year was the first year that I had heard about a project that sounded, quite simply, like complete insanity. The object/goal is to wear one dress for the entire month, and in case you’re doing the knuckle counting, there’s 31 whole days in the month of October.

It all started four years ago with a girl named Avery and her grandpa’s off-handed comment that girls in his day has 2 dresses: one for the week and one for Sunday. Thus, the October Dress Project was born. It’s a call to anti-consumerism, pro-simplicity, anti-conformity, and pro-imagination.

After reading through dozens of posts and witnessing hundreds of photos of participants, I knew that I wanted to give it a shot. Finding out about the project in the middle of September 2011, however, left me with little time to find that dress that I could endure for the entire month. Nothing in my wardrobe remotely fit that description. So I spent months searching and searching. And I finally found “the one” only to have it back-ordered for 5 months. I almost cried.

Rest assured it is here! Finally. It’s been hanging in the closet now for just about a month. I’ve resisted temptation to wear it even for just a few hours. And I feel like I’m on the verge of Christmas.

In looking at the calendar today, I realized that I’m a week away from donning the dress. Questions and doubts starting to rise now as to whether I have enough to accessorize. Me (in all of my OCD fashion) will no doubt Garanimal myself a little later this week. I have a few more accessories that need to be finished, as part of my notion was to be able to recycle and/or upcycle as well.

Nope. No pictures just yet. I don’t want to spoil the surprise. But for those of you who know me, I’ll give you a hint: It’s neither black nor brown. (I know, what colors could that possibly leave me with then….A whole rainbow!!)

Check back in and follow me along the throughout the month. I’ll be posting pictures. And if you feel led, join in the fun!!


Leave a comment