Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

My Buddy James

on September 19, 2012

Today was a day of reflection. Okay, let’s be completely honest, it was also about getting some cleaning done, some items/areas better organized, and getting a layer of chalkboard paint on several surfaces. However, in the quiet and the still of these individualistic, monotonous tasks, I felt God reaching out to me, the Holy Spirit nudging my heart.

To simply say that I’ve had a rough start to the school year just doesn’t seem enough…..at least from my perspective. I’ve been overwhelmed, over-tired, over-stimulated, and overtly plagued with a season of chronic migraines. I’ve also been short, testy, whiny, and absorbed with murmurings and disputings. In places that I love with people that I adore, I have been less of the person I wish to be. And it makes me sad.

Today, James 1:12 (NIV) was brought to mind. It reads, “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.” Now, while I’m not big on jewelry, a crown sounds kind of nice. But really isn’t simply being blessed enough? My heart longs to be in several places. My mind, however, spends far too many minutes pondering all of the reasons to not be there….or there….or even there.

Maybe I’m reading into it more than I should, but at the base-level, I read this as “Happy is the person who keeps on going even when things get bad.” And yes, I do find myself happier when I’m doing what I’ve been called to do rather than giving into excuse after excuse as to why I should be allowed to give up.

Thanks, God, for the quietness and clarity You afforded me today.

Leave a Reply

