Tears, Sweat, and a lot of PTO

A fine WordPress.com site

Tiny Messes

on September 17, 2012

So, the spouse has been away on a fishing trip for the past 4 days, eager to return to the home front tonight. I, anticipating the arrival, think that welcoming him home to a house that isn’t in complete disarray would be a nice change of pace. Well, it’s not that the house is truly messy on any given occasion, but it doesn’t sparkle. In fact, I think that the last time my house did sparkle, it was the year 2000, and my firstborn had yet to grace this earth. We currently reside at 112 Presentable.

With that being said, I believe that children are born with some sick sixth-sense that thwarts even the most ambitious of plans. After the last Thing was tucked away neatly at school, I was able to load the dishwasher, pick up some clutter in the kitchen area, and wipe down the counters. After Thing 1 arrives home, it looks like the Battle of the Bulge took place due to the path of carnage. Thing 2 only adds to that.

I’m to the point of knowing better than ask for ideas. Ideas come (in my opinion) from people who say things like, “I read this….”, “I would do this….”, “Someone said that this would work….”. Really? Sounds like you’re just about as lost as I am because I’ve read that too, and I’ve often thought about what I would do if given the opportunity, the means, and the trainable children to effect that perfect solution.

I’ve asked. I’ve begged. I’ve pleaded. I’ve yelled. I’ve silently fumed. And really…..I’d just be happy if they could remember that trash goes in the trashcan and dirty clothes go in the hamper. I don’t think that I’m being unreasonable.

2 responses to “Tiny Messes

  1. Shawna Lee says:

    I am right there with you. When I drop in on someone and there is no clutter, I wonder if they have real children or if they have some sort of genetically engineered progeny who don’t make messes like mine. I mean, today alone, 16 pieces of paper came flying out of backpacks into my home!! Love your new blog. It’s about time you start writing again.

  2. mica71 says:

    Thanks! I figured I’d finally found a title that I loved, so why not. 🙂 I saw a sign on Pinterest today that said, “Please excuse the mess. The children are making memories.” Part of me thinks that is a cop-out on cleaning. The other thought was, “Seriously? Making piles of garbage is NOT memories.” Well, not *happy* memories anyway. Oy. Me and my OCD. :-/

Leave a Reply

